Post Reply  Down to end
Page 3 of 3 <123
Print this entire topic · 
GREENI

United Kingdom 
Great advice sako... best reply on the forum for a long time. Thumbs Up
Post #805307 8th Dec 2019 11:06am
walfy

Some wise words I'll do my best to follow. I'm still very new to the sport. Went out on Fri for a session with an old Navy mate. No instruction, just to have a laugh and enjoy throwing some lead down range.
We shot the DTL range first and then went down to the woods for the English sport sections. I hit about 40% all day. Which I was happy with.
I know I'm struggling with position and acquiring a target. After 24 yrs of rifle shooting, I struggle to keep the barrels moving when I shoot. But I am getting there.
I did notice on the DTL range, trap 2 is a L-R rising. There are 7 shooting stations in a semi circle, 1-7 L-R. When in positions 5,6&7 I can hit trap 2 all day, move to position 4 and I can't hit it for toffee which really infuriates me. I have no idea why perhaps it's my lead or just my position I have no idea. But it's something I need to get on top of. 110 D250 SE HT
110 USW SOLD
RRE HSE Dynamic Gone, wife killed it
VOLVO XC60 R Dynamic with some toys

Polaris RZR 900XP SOLD
Post #805313 8th Dec 2019 11:36am
sako243

Wales 1994 Defender 110 300 Tdi CSW Alpine White
walfy wrote:
I struggle to keep the barrels moving when I shoot. But I am getting there.

If you have your own shotgun then there's practice you can do at home for this. Sit or stand so that you can see three corners of the room (or three distinctive points). Start with the gun on one point, swing through the second and pull the trigger but don't stop until you're aiming at the third point.

Out on the grounds you can do the same thing - pick a point beyond where you would be pulling the trigger and keep the gun moving until you're aiming at it. You don't need to be exact - remember we're focusing on movement here not precision.

walfy wrote: