Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Drive shaft (NSF) leaking
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Petronius4

United Kingdom 2015 Defender 90 Puma 2.2 SW Keswick Green
Drive shaft (NSF) leaking
Evening all.

Just done an oil and filters change on the Landy and whilst I was having a good root around underneath noticed that I’m seeping grease(?) from the near side front drive shaft swivel ball. I’ve only covered 20k since new and that’s nearly all road use so I’m a little hacked off tbh.

Anyone have any suggestions on what may be the cause before I take it down to the stealers. If I’m honest I’d like to have a go at it myself but I have limited tools and experience on this sort of thing. Advice & suggestions greatly appreciated as usual.

Very Happy -------------------------------
👲🏻 1986 ex-Military 90 NAD 2.5 Soft Top. Sold
🇬🇧 2015 Defender 90 - Ripon Landrover Heritage 006
Post #769230 19th Apr 2019 5:05pm
donmacn

Hi,

I'd post a pic, let folk see what you're talking about. I don't mean to diminish the concern, but it's easier to judge with pics.

Does the car steer OK, no wobbling or anything? If it is new, and all very tight, then it seems to me that's quite a low mileage to have the swivel seals go.

I did mine - probably 10 years ago or so, at a rough guess. First time I'd done them. It's a bit involved, with a few bearings and gaskets involved. On the plus side, on a new-ish car things shouldn't be overly rusted/siezed.

Could the seals have been damaged by something? I've seen someone put dinitrol/waxoyl onto the swivels, which then dried quite hard, and I think damaged the seals. Donald

1994 Defender 300Tdi 110 SW - owned since 2002 - 230k miles and going strong
(The 'rolling restoration' or tinkering thread: http://www.defender2.net/forum/topic58538.html )
2000 Range Rover P38 4.0L V8

in the past..
RR classic - fitted with 200Tdi
1984 RR classic - V8 with ZF auto box
1993 Discovery 300Tdi