↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Today I fitted a Slickshift what a really really great mod
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
gilarion

Wales 2007 Defender 90 Other CSW Trident Green
Today I fitted a Slickshift what a really really great mod
After a few weeks of debating with myself about fitting a Slickshift I decided to bite the bullet and order one from Synchro Gears. I decided to buy the whole kit which includes a new turret and a plastic sleeve, anti-rattle spring and the Slikshift
Fitting was pretty straight forward bearing in mind I am no mechanic.

Getting the plastic sleeve out was a challenge but got there in the end, then bending the springs forward took some doing.

The hardest thing was adjusting the springs and the bias which I have to say took a couple of hours of slight adjustment and then keep taking the Defender for a drive around and then more adjustment until I got it right. I am now very pleased with the way the gears change.

The Slickshift takes some getting used to and I will have to learn the new ‘H’ as the gear change is pretty close.
What do I think of the new set up, really good and once I get used to the new style of change it will be one of the best mods I have done.

At first glance it looks complicated to fit but it is not, though forget about it only taking a half hour to fit as Syncro say, for it took me all afternoon, as I say adjusting the springs is a chore and I nearly gave up, but if you take your time and adjust in very small increments you will get there.

I have just driven to town with the new set up and the gearbox feels like its brand new the changeup and down is very slick and I can recommend this mod to anyone, just make sure you buy a new turret as the wear on the old one I took out was noticeable, they only cost £30.00 complete with springs fitted.

Out with the old

Click image to enlarge

Bending the turret springs

Click image to enlarge