↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Side Locker - Insulation - Is it necessary?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Bushpig

Wales 2012 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 SW Alpine White
Side Locker - Insulation - Is it necessary?
I'm planning to get this fitted this weekend.

Click image to enlarge

Click image to enlarge

While checking the dimensions and fitment, I've become concerned about the heat radiating off the exhaust and rear silencer.
I'm going to fit a compressor, air line, snatch strap, jumper cables and tyre repair kit but worried the potential heat could melt the insulation and plastic bits.
Trawled through the many posts on these type of lockers and insulating them is never mentioned.
For the fine members out there that have one fitted, feedback on my heat concern would be greatly appreciated...

I've never used insulation before, so presume that something like Dynamat would not work as it would get destroyed by stones, etc. flying off the tyre? And putting the insulation on the inside of the locker would serve little purpose?

Much Thanks in advance... Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.
Douglas Adams

2012 2.2 Puma
Post #740278 13th Nov 2018 2:16pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
Steve_overland

United Kingdom 1997 Defender 110 300 Tdi HT Chawton White
Sorry cant help with the question, but where did you get the box... like the look of it?? Building a 110 expedition vehicle, pictures can be found: @steve_overland on Insta.
Post #740284 13th Nov 2018 2:54pm
Snowy90

United Kingdom 2008 Defender 90 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Fuji White
No direct experience of fitting these, but some insulation would be a good idea, if your putting electrical equipment i there, I think Silent coat is stronger/thicker than dyna matt and cheaper.