Home > Puma (Tdci) > Puma 2.2 gear change
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 4 1234>
Print this entire topic · 
Gus

Australia 2014 Defender 90 Puma 2.2 SW Fuji White
Puma 2.2 gear change
Hi Folks,

I realise that there's been some discussions on the subject already (rev hang etc) but reading through the various posts they all seem to drift off onto other subjects, mostly led by 200tdi/300tdi die hards who like to double-declutch or time it to the nearest 50 rpm so that they do not need to use the clutch at all Shocked

I'm just running in a new defender 90 and although I have 25 years driving experience and the majority of it spent in LR Series/Defender vehicles the gear change on the new Def is taking a good deal of getting used to. I've tried changing quick to changing slow and every iteration in between and although I'm slowly getting there it seems that you have to develop a different technique for each gear to avoid the well-documented CLONK Rolling Eyes

My initial instinct based on previous Landies was to keep the revs up a little and let the clutch out slow to avoid a clunky drivetrain pick-up but this played merry hell with the fangled 'rev hang' feature so I quickly reverted to a more slow-but-steady no-gas technique with one eye on the rev counter to avoid most unwanted aural slants on my driving technique. However, I'm Censored if I can figure out how to change down without an embarrassing lurch/clonk combo unless I accelerate first. For example if I simply want to drop it into 6th from 5th having held a cruising speed for a while it seems unavoidable.

I'm used to Defenders requiring their owner to conform but I guess I was expecting the new 'box to be an improvement on the previous model. This is, of course, new owner paranoia and I know that the general consensus will be 'they all do that, adjust to suit' but if I wanted to hear that I'd just go speak to the dealer Laughing