↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Technical > Puma EGR valve contamination.
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 3 of 3 <123
Print this entire topic · 
CyberCharlie

United Kingdom 2007 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 USW Java Black
How difficult is to replace it? I am quite good with DIY but i have very little experience with engines. The mechanic quoted some 250 pounds for parts and labour...
Post #218680 13th Mar 2013 5:39pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
custom90

United Kingdom 
All you will need is a Diagnostic tool to clear and DTC's and MIL light. (You may have neither at the moment if so you won't need the diagnostic too)
You will however need the appropriate section in the workshop manual:

Click image to enlarge

And a Torque wrench to tighten the bolts to the correct NM Torque. (20 roughly) other than that it's a case of having patience as it's a tight fit but possible. Also be sure to disconnect the battery before starting and work or removing the EGR electrical plug.
Removed EGR:

Click image to enlarge

New EGR(Slightly different shape newer type)[You will also need the two new gaskets]:

Click image to enlarge

New EGR vales available from LR I'd recommend Neil @ Shukers LR parts or Dan @ Duckworthparts. Both are excellent.
Not a difficult job but time consuming and difficult access hence garage charges. Perfectly possible though and worth it for the costs saved IMO. Diesel$ Live$ Matter. ⛽️🛢️👨‍🔧🧰⚙️ RED, WHITE & BOOST! 🇬🇧
Post #218692 13th Mar 2013 6:43pm
custom90

United Kingdom 
Personally I myself bought a Diagnostic tool and Torque wrench as I didn't have either and did it myself saving 150 if I remember correctly. I also bought from Neil @ Shukers parts as he gave me the best price on the market. If you'd like his E-mail please contact me via PM. Diesel$ Live$ Matter. ⛽️🛢️👨‍🔧🧰⚙️ RED, WHITE & BOOST! 🇬🇧
Post #218693 13th Mar 2013 6:46pm
CyberCharlie

thanks guys i'll give it a try

Ciao Smile