↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Off Topic > one for the sparkies...
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Caterham

England 2011 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Stornoway Grey
one for the sparkies...
so I wondering if I should try and get away with a 6mm T&E over a 10mm T&E.

fitting new cooker rated at 14.8kW but I suspect that is full tilt with no diversity.
cooker installation says 46A MCB but I'm thinking of going with 40A and a 6mm cable as I don't envisage every having everything going full whack all at the same time.?

thoughts please Mr. Green
Post #1018692 18th Dec 2023 8:02pm
lohr500

United Kingdom 2013 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 XS CSW Santorini Black
Daft question Caterham as I have no knowledge in this area, but why wouldn't you follow the recommended installation requirements?
Is the cost of the higher rated cable and MCB significant in the scale of things?
Post #1018695 18th Dec 2023 8:23pm
Caterham

lohr500 - the cost might not be significant but the pain in the rear is when it comes to installing.
I'm fully appreciate why you've responded as you have but I'm inclined to think the manufacturers suggestion is a 'cover ones rear' approach.
As noted I can't imagine for one second I'll have two ovens, a grill and all 5 or 6 hobs going all at once and all on max so I don't really see the point of catering for that scenario and hence the question.

in the word of electrics / design it is quite normal to apply diversity - and thats effectively what I'm doing (I think Very Happy ).

valued feedback all the same. Thumbs Up
Post #1018696 18th Dec 2023 8:28pm
diesel_jim

United Kingdom 2006 Defender 110 Td5 SW Epsom Green
Go with the higher rating. As a sparky myself (albiet more data/CCTV/door entry stuff, but also 18th and part P certified) go with the bigger size..

"you never know"

Quickly looking at TLC... for 10m of 6mm T&E or 10mm T&E...

Click image to enlarge

Not much in it..
Post #1018697 18th Dec 2023 8:32pm
diesel_jim