↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > A-Plan Insurance > Accident
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
tolley

United Kingdom 2006 Defender 90 Td5 CSW Oslo Blue
Accident
Can anyone tell me the in and outs of car hire ,after a non fault accident, my insurance have got me a hire car at the other drivers insurance cost , but now there insurance has said I have to accept these hire agreements and maybe costs .
Post #1023092 31st Jan 2024 12:17pm
Bluest

United Kingdom 2007 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Java Black
I think you have to be careful here. You will effectively be signing an agreement that if for any reason the cost of the hire can't be recovered from the third party then you would be liable. That's certainly what mine was like a few years ago. 2007 110 TDCi Station Wagon XS
Post #1023112 31st Jan 2024 4:26pm
markb110

England 2002 Defender 90 Td5 HT Epsom Green
When I was an account manager (commercial) there was a case that we were told about from the personal team.

A premier league footballer was involved in an accident cause by a third party. He accepted the third party advice to use their repairers and was given a Porche hirer car.

The third party then refuded the claim, the primary insurer refused to cover the damage as the footballer hadn’t told them of the loss first and did not use their approved repairers.

And in a nutshell the footballer had to pay £80k for the vehicle hire……..

They are not thinking of you, but how they can get a return on the loss.

Only deal with your own insurer and tell any third party if they communicate to you via letter, email or phone call to deal directly with whom you are insured with.

I hope that in some way that helps.

This also applies to the ‘ I’ am sorry, get me a quote and I will pay for your damage crowd ’. Nope, it goes through the insurance company, and if it effects their insurance premium that’s not your problem.
Post #1023119 31st Jan 2024 5:23pm
RDR

United Kingdom