Home > Tdi > Clutch problem
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
SimpleSimon

United Kingdom 1998 Defender 90 300 Tdi HT Rioja Red
Clutch problem
Hi all,
Please excuse a question that's probably been asked before...

Got in the Defender this morning to go and meet someone the other side of the county. When I went to pull off the drive the clutch pedal didn't come all the way up. I'd been sat with my foot on the clutch for a bit, so thought nothing of it and flicked it back with my toes...

Happened again when going for second, so I pulled over and popped her into neutral to check it wasn't just something daft like the spring on the pedal itself or something jamming it. It wasn't that. I then had quite the struggle then to select any gears at all, but eventually got 1st and limped her the quarter mile home.

Any ideas? I am not a mechanic so please use small words!

A quick search was suggesting leaking from the master and/or slave cylinder, which I have checked and neither appears to be the culprit. Both are clean and dry.

Now that I think on it, I did feel as if the gearbox was getting "worse" over the last few days. I've only had it 6 days, but the last two in particular it seemed harder to select a couple of gears. I put it down to me being less careful and/or quirky synchro not liking certain conditions, but could that be related to a slow decline in clutch "performance"?

My plan, please tell me if its no good, is to top up the master cylinder and see if its drivable for a bit. Then get it to the garage. I had a little look at the Haynes manual, but as the first line about the clutch said "remove the gearbox or engine" I think I'll give that a miss!

Any help much appreciated.

UPDATE: I put a splash of fluid in and the pedal is now returning as normal. I haven't driven it yet... 1998 300tdi 90 Hard Top. Daily driver, dog bus, shooting wagon and ongoing project!
Post #921895 18th Sep 2021 9:07am
Mo Murphy