↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Technical > How smart (or dumb) is the battery charging regime?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 2 of 2 <12
Print this entire topic · 
BJH

United Kingdom 2009 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 SW Alpine White
Mo Murphy wrote:

Here's my setup - a bit of wire and a big relay .... and a fuse. I've been using it on this 90 for 12 years, the same on the 90 previous to that for 8 years and the hybrid prior to that for 3 years.

Nice! Thanks for sharing your setup. OK, maybe I am overthinking the charging requirements after all.

Mo Murphy wrote:

Its used for the fridge, scene lights, USB sockets, dash cam, heated mirrors, auxiliary fan and heated seats. The lead acid leisure batteries have a life of about 6 years which I think is reasonable and it'll run the fridge alone for about 3 days without moving. I've had one failure in that time, of a relay which I picked up on the dual voltmeter and that was replaced the same day.

Yeah 6 years is absolutely reasonable. Even if you allow £200 for the battery that's just £33 per year equivalent. Next to nothing, basically.

Mo Murphy wrote:

Hope that helps
Mo

Cheers.
Post #949644 17th Apr 2022 1:09pm
BJH

macfrank wrote:
here's my setup http://kraxlr.de/makingof.html#electrics- a bit of wire and a big (voltage sensitive) relay. Been using it for about 200 times in 5 years and no issues, no noticeable battery fatigue, no problems.

Lovely - thanks for sharing. I love your roof tent setup as well. If I could go back this is the type I would get too. Mine is one of the more typical roof tents that fold out over the edge of the vehicle. Cheaper, but in the UK it can be a problem to simply park up somewhere and camp for the night. I think having the tent's footprint contained to the vehicle itself greatly reduces the negative attention that is drawn.

macfrank wrote:

BJH wrote:

Because I want to run a fridge for at least 24 hours and it seems like I'd need a very big lead-acid battery to accommodate that...