↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Wheels & Tyres (L663) > Fitting 18” steel wheels (wheelnuts &tpms)
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
steve990



Member Since: 02 Apr 2021
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 1

United Kingdom 
Fitting 18” steel wheels (wheelnuts &tpms)

Hi all,

I’ve purchased a set of genuine LR defender steel 18’s with all terrain adventure. For another defender 2 owner.

Does anyone know if I can use my existing locking wheel nut from my alloys on my steels?

I have the correct separate wheel nuts and covers for the steels.

Also theses are not fitted with tpms’s will this mess up the car software?

Thank you in advance.

Stephen

P300 SE

Post #904526 23rd May 2021 10:11am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
J77



Member Since: 04 Nov 2019
Location: Fife
Posts: 1807

Scotland 

Yeah it will probably show a warning on the dash without the TPMS.

Locking nuts are different


Click image to enlarge
 21MY Defender 90 D200 S, Tasman Blue, Fuji White roof.

Post #904543 23rd May 2021 1:17pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
lumbstar



Member Since: 08 Mar 2021
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 9

United Kingdom 

I want to do the same, but very few I’ve seen come with TPMS still fitted. Does anyone know if you can buy 4/5 new TPMS from LR and they just work or do they need reprogramming into the car?
Ideally I’m wanting a spare set of wheels and tyres that I can easily switch at home. D240 SE 110-Tasman
Audi S4 B9, Audi S3 8V, Defender 110 TD5 HT

Post #905242 27th May 2021 7:14am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Simon Audi



Member Since: 19 Nov 2020
Location: Newport
Posts: 482

United Kingdom 

You need Steel Wheel Nuts - they are different.

Powerful UK and LR sell them

But I see advertised on ebay now New Defender Parts are selling them (may be copies?) much less ££

For TPMS - you will get an error - so you need to fit some...

Post #905251 27th May 2021 8:25am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
umbertob



Member Since: 21 Jun 2020
Location: Altadena, CA
Posts: 90

United States 

lumbstar wrote:
I want to do the same, but very few I’ve seen come with TPMS still fitted. Does anyone know if you can buy 4/5 new TPMS from LR and they just work or do they need reprogramming into the car?
Ideally I’m wanting a spare set of wheels and tyres that I can easily switch at home.


Yes, the new sensors will be detected by the TPMS module and registered automatically after a few miles of driving around at a certain speed (as long as fully compatible.) The lone exception may be the one you mount on the spare wheel, but you can flip the spare with a running wheel and that 5th sensor will eventually register as well. 2020 NAS Defender 110 HSE 5-seater / Silver / Khaki / Black Pack / Black Roof / Satin Film / Cold Pack / Off-Road Pack / Advanced OR Pack / Comfort + Convenience Pack / Sirius + HD radio / HUD / Meridian Surround

Post #905264 27th May 2021 9:43am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Post Reply
Post Reply  Back to top
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT + 1 Hour

Jump to  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >
Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Site Copyright © 2006-2021 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis