↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Td5 > Power steering fluid
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Vera's Driver

United Kingdom 
Power steering fluid
My newly bought1999 Td5 90 has an MOT advisable due to leaking steering box. Fluid level checked today and low. Should I drain the system and top entirely with new fluid or just top up. What is the recommended fluid of choice. As mentioned before very much the novice here.
Post #899240 20th Apr 2021 10:09pm
Mdm

United Kingdom 
check what's in there already it should be atf (red stuff) but its common for it to have the later type stuff as well (golden colour)

the only proper fix is to get the box reconditioned or fit an exchange box.
Post #899274 21st Apr 2021 8:27am
Leamreject

Italy 2011 Defender 90 Puma 2.4 HT Fuji White
Make sure the engine is running and upto temperature when checking the level. Power Assisted Steering (PAS) fluid is the same as Automatic Transmission Fluid (ATF) so red in colour, so unless it looks dirty I can’t see a need to flush it out Ride like you stole it!!
If I’m not on a bike it’s because only a 4x4 will do…
2011 2.4 Puma 90 HT

Last edited by Leamreject on 21st Apr 2021 3:30pm. Edited 2 times in total
Post #899300 21st Apr 2021 10:56am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
geobloke

United Kingdom 
As the others have said a new steering box or seal refurb kit is required to solve the fluid leak. However, if you need a "stop gap" to get you through to payday etc. then it might be worth trying some of the PAS system stop leak products. These swell the seals and can slow or prevent the leak for a while until a proper repair can be made.