↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Technical > Puma rear axle casing negative camber - factory tolerance?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 3 of 4 <1234>
Print this entire topic · 
DSC-off

United Kingdom 2015 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 XS CSW Aintree Green
I have no experience of counteracting pre existing weld distortion with additional welds, so find this whole topic very interesting. Developing a steel panel so that it's dimensionally correct after welding is more my thing.

Is the flange for the bolt on diff cover fully welded yet?
It looks to be just tacked on in the pictures above. I'd fully weld that before starting any straightening, to avoid going through the whole process again.

Just out of interest, did the axle spring back when the truss was cut? - opening up the size of the cut.
I suspect it may have, though possibly only a little bit.
Post #878457 14th Jan 2021 2:54pm
Shroppy

United Kingdom 1986 Defender 130 V8 Petrol HCPU Aintree Green
Dinnu - Yes a very interesting video, gives me some faith that I'll be able to straighten mine! The amount of weld required on that casing was worrying, though I dare say the wall thickness is probably twice that of our LR casings.

DSC - Good spot, the base plate for the diff cover is currently only tacked in place. I've left it as such as I was hesitant to complete the welding until I was sure the casing could be straightened.

The axle certainly didn't spring back, or at-least the grinder cut hasn't opened up by a discernible amount. This makes me confident that my welding for the truss didn't warp the casing and the 'bend' was probably there from factory. I think I'll be able to weld the diff cover baseplate on without warping the casing if I apply the same methodology as I did on the front - zig-zag around doing short welds being careful not to overheat one spot. 1985 127 V8 Build Thread
Series 2 109"
Series 1 80"
Post #878468 14th Jan 2021 4:09pm
Retroanaconda

Scotland