↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > 130 > Shroppy's V8 127 Rebuild
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 3 of 4 <1234>
Print this entire topic · 
GREENI

United Kingdom 
I was about to edit my post and put 6-4 Laughing

We once built a bike for a guy who was 6’ 9” we used the largest head tube Reynolds made and didn’t cut it! We dubbed that bike ‘the gate’ Laughing

Nice bits going on your 127 too Thumbs Up

How on earth do you fit in a truck cab Shocked
Post #851843 25th Aug 2020 7:34am
Shroppy

United Kingdom 1986 Defender 130 V8 Petrol HCPU Aintree Green
Where was that Greeni? When I worked in the trade about 4 years ago, nothing fit 'off the shelf' thankfully I was more concerned with MTBs then. Thankfully Fairlight have pulled a blinder with their range that are designed to actually fit the rider else, I would have been going custom myself!

I don't really fit in a truck cab to be honest, that's probably why I only drove the 127 about 2 miles before I stripped it. Rolling with laughter I can fit reasonably comfortably in a van body with seat rails and very comfortably in a CSW but the rear passengers have very little leg room. Laughing

Re the nice bits, thanks! I'm trying to make sure I don't miss any of the bits I wished I did on the 110. Trouble is, I'm now trying to make sure everything is a good as new to match the new engine. Big Cry 1985 127 V8 Build Thread
Series 2 109"
Series 1 80"
Post #851845 25th Aug 2020 7:50am
GREENI

United Kingdom 
I was at Brian Rourke Cycles for quite a few years. Rourke jnr actually has a tdi 90 on a galv chassis with an external cage, he's had it about 15 years now, we used to get out laning quite regularly. Although the shop sold, Rourke frames still exist being built by Jase Rourke, he also bought George Longstaff’s business (famous for racing trikes) and has another business painting frames for a number of shops, teams and manufacturers.
I still work in the trade, but for an online retail site, business is booming!!