↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Technical > 2013 110 Puma - clunk noise from rear
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 3 of 4 <1234>
Print this entire topic · 
Tumbiri

2013 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 XS CSW Orkney Grey
HardCharger, sorry, I have no experience with the grease-able ball joint but seeing that the Genuine part got rid of my problem. I would hesitate to use anything else, unless it is a Land Rover part, I guess.

As for my drive train, it is still good (61,000Km), no excessive play; the occasional noise when I mess up the gear changes.
Post #836693 11th Jun 2020 10:47pm
carrotbay

United Kingdom 2008 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Santorini Black
I’ve had a similar ‘clunk’ for a while now and have been replacing drive flanges for one piece ones and rebushing pretty much everything. Last resort has been to rebush the A frame and change the ball joint.

How are you supposed to get that to 176Nm when you can’t get a socket to it? .. even a shallow one can’t get on. Is there a special ultra shallow 30mm socket I should be using?

Thanks
Post #837599 16th Jun 2020 6:22pm
Tumbiri

2013 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 XS CSW Orkney Grey
Checked with my mechanic. He used a ring spanner and tightened as much as he could. Can't get a torque wrench in there unless with some special adapter tool. The nut is locked with a split pin so it won't back out.
Post #837694 16th Jun 2020 11:43pm
Co1

United Kingdom 2013 Defender 90 Puma 2.2 HT Loire Blue
I got a shallow socket in mine, was tight though. Was tough to get the correct torque laid on your back under the vehicle!
Post #837699 17th Jun 2020 5:03am
carrotbay

United Kingdom 2008 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Santorini Black
Do you know what brand of socket you used?
Post #837722 17th Jun 2020 7:28am
Co1

United Kingdom 2013 Defender 90 Puma 2.2 HT Loire Blue
Afraid not, I borrowed it off a mate.
Post #837780 17th Jun 2020 12:19pm
blackwolf

United Kingdom 2007 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 DCPU Stornoway Grey