↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > My Defender > Bogwert and F's D90
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 5 12345>
Print this entire topic · 
bogwert

Scotland 2003 Defender 90 Td5 CSW Zambezi Silver
Bogwert and F's D90
'Lets get a Landy!'... four words which set off nearly a year of searching!

So the hunt began, a year of saving, searching, sale sites and eyeing up Land Rovers in the street! Along with various friends spamming WhatsApp with links to Defenders for sale (thanks SWR)!

Frances (the better half) is from the countryside of Angus in Scotland -mud, farms and sheep. Myself, the rolling humber of Warwickshire. Ive seen more Chelsea tractors then you can shake a stick at, all gleaming and alloys that haven't ever seen an ounce of mud! My background is in Quality Engineering and Manufacture, working for Jaguar Land Rover, Norbar Torque Tools and now Bosch Rexroth I can use a spanner set - and follow a Haynes. But thats about it! I'll take any advice!

We settled on the idea of a Defender, nothing too new, nothing too old, rugged and tinker-able.

January 2016 saw our wee family grow by four paws! As 'wee' Rab the Border Collie puppy came home with us... the urge for a Defender grew even more... Collies are made for Defenders right?

Click image to enlarge

Rab, now 1 year old!

After responding to many ads, seeing a few and tapping chassis' with bits of metal, we found one... surprisingly 25 miles from my parents house down in Warwickshire. Well maintained, even stored in a garage, and only a few 'issues' to deal with, a few spots of rust, oil, the off side front bearing rattling and the spare wheel being flat with the wrong alloy.

By the end of following week found myself on a a late train from Dundee to Birmingham!

So this is my wee post of our trials and tribulations of our D90.

Saturday morning saw the start of a 400mile road trip from south of Birmingham to Dundee.

Click image to enlarge

Click image to enlarge

Click image to enlarge