Home > Maintenance & Modifications > New Stereo System
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 3 of 3 <123
Print this entire topic · 
RRUK
Site Supporter

United Kingdom 
To the original OP,

You may want to look at my thread in the My Defender section, as I took my Land Rover from a bare metal hard top and have made it much more civilised, which included doing the sound deadening first and recently, replacing all the Audio side of things.

I didn't want to spend mega bucks as this is not my daily driver (I have a Range Rover Vogue SE with a Logic 7 Harmon Kardon system for that Very Happy ) But I wanted decent sound quality. I am also not a techie and learnt stuff as I went along, with the help of the great people on this forum.

I have fitted a new HU (Bought an Alpine but it kept breaking, despite almost no use, today sees the arrival of a replacement Kenwood unit) and have four Alpine speakers mounted in the headlining, and a powered Alpine subwoofer behind the passenger seat. It was all very easy to put together and I'm pleased with the result.

Click image to enlarge

I didn't need Bluetooth streaming or phone etc, but I did want an AUX in and a USB socket. The Alpine speakers are all 4" as they had to fit the speaker pods from La Salle Headlining, but they are very crisp. All the speaker wire was coax but I got as thick as possible.

Mine didn't have any knee height speakers luckily but it's worth replacing all the standard rubbish that LR put in.

My HU was 60, speakers were the same, the Sub was about 100.

Hope this helps.

http://www.defender2.net/forum/topic10705.html 2016 D4 HSE

1998 110 TUM HS FFR Hard Top XD WOLF

1982 Series 3 SWB Petrol
Post #183400 9th Nov 2012 10:29am
mk1collector

England 2004 Defender 110 Td5 CSW Bonatti Grey
Thud wrote:
If it were me I'd spend the full whack on a kit of soundproofing from NoiseKiller. It'll do excatly the same job as buying a few cheapish components and you'll get a nicer car to boot. No-one else will agree of course.