↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > In Car Electronics (L663) > New Defender - No hotspot or live apps?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
ardevd



Member Since: 04 Mar 2024
Location: Norway
Posts: 22

Norway 
New Defender - No hotspot or live apps?
I got a new P400e HSE and I distinctly remember ticking all infotainment and connectivity related option when configuring the vehicle.

However, I don’t see any hotspot option under the connectivity menu and “live apps” such as Weather is nowhere to be seen.

Anyone have any insight?
Post #1039592 10th Jul 2024 8:41am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
TexasRover



Member Since: 24 Nov 2022
Location: Paris
Posts: 894

France 2002 Defender 110 Td5 DCPU Chawton White
Would that not be something to discuss with the dealer?
Post #1039601 10th Jul 2024 10:49am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Huwrhys



Member Since: 27 Mar 2024
Location: Hornchurch
Posts: 126

United Kingdom 
When you say Hotspot, is this to connect your devices to in the car?
My 130 connects to my phone by WiFi as I start the car. It comes up with LR******. The phone (IPhone) doesn't connect by Bluetooth.

Click image to enlarge

The above menu comes up under connectivity showing WiFi if you want to connect to an outside signal or wireless for your devices to connect to.

Click image to enlarge

I only connect my phone so no other device is authorised to connect at present. My wife may connect her Kindle or IPad in the future, I'll let you know if she does. 24MY D300 130 X-Dynamic HSE Santorini Black
Post #1039602 10th Jul 2024 11:52am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
lrFFM



Member Since: 28 Sep 2017
Location: Frankfurt
Posts: 39

Germany 2016 Defender 90 Puma 2.2 SW Keswick Green
Hotspot is something different.
If you order the hotspot option, your Defender will have a wifi-hotspot and an external antenna. Passengers in the car can then connect to the wifi of the Defender instead of using their own mobile data plan.
When you book the hotspot option, it will show up as a separate menu point in Pivi.
Post #1039615 10th Jul 2024 2:00pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
lightning



Member Since: 23 Apr 2009
Location: High Peak, Derbyshire
Posts: 2408

United Kingdom 
The wireless hotspot is a different thing, it enables multiple users to access the vehicle wi-fi without affecting the primary user.

lt can be activated if not already enabled but you'll need a diagnostic tool to do it.
Post #1039616 10th Jul 2024 2:00pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
Huwrhys



Member Since: 27 Mar 2024
Location: Hornchurch
Posts: 126

United Kingdom 
There are a few bits and bobs I’d like to upgrade on my car. One more thing to tempt me towards my own GAP tool. 24MY D300 130 X-Dynamic HSE Santorini Black
Post #1039648 10th Jul 2024 7:30pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
lightning



Member Since: 23 Apr 2009
Location: High Peak, Derbyshire
Posts: 2408

United Kingdom 
You can turn on the wi-fi hotspot with the GAP tool if it's not already active.
Post #1039690 11th Jul 2024 9:21am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
ardevd



Member Since: 04 Mar 2024
Location: Norway
Posts: 22

Norway 
Turns out the hotspot feature (WiFi with data plan) is not available in the Nordic region for some hilarious reason. Which is why it’s not an option in the configurator nor in my vehicle. Same with live apps.
Post #1039721 11th Jul 2024 7:14pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Reply with quote
lightning



Member Since: 23 Apr 2009
Location: High Peak, Derbyshire
Posts: 2408

United Kingdom 
lt will be one of those things, like Sony getting the internet radio app banned in the U.K. (so you can't use the app to receive stations outside the U.K.)

lt's apparently because Sony "only licensed the station to play the music in the country where the station actually is"

One of the disadvantages of having everything going through the internet, it can be blocked or controlled. No chance of that with terrestrial radio.
Post #1039727 11th Jul 2024 8:32pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Post Reply
Post Reply  Back to top
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT + 1 Hour

Jump to  
Previous Topic | Next Topic >
Posting Rules
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Site Copyright © 2006-2024 Futuranet Ltd & Martin Lewis
DEFENDER2.NET RSS Feed - All Forums