↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > General & Technical (L663) > New product required, (Martin ? )
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
ashtrans
Site Sponsor

United Kingdom 
New product required, (Martin ? )
OK, so its what can be termed a first world problem I admit but on these cold mornings it would be great to put on the heated screen and heated seats remotely once the car is running from the app.

I don't know why LR don't have this option on the remote app.

I am no electronics expert but would it be possible to fit a module to the can bus with a SIM card linked to a simple phone app to turn these 2 on when required ?

I would buy one !

any thoughts ? Dave
Post #1021885 20th Jan 2024 1:34pm
lightning

United Kingdom 
lt probably would be possible, but l find that the heated screen defrosts very quickly even when it's -7deg C

And the heated seats work within about a minute of turning them
on.

lf you've already started the engine remotely the heated screen is going to work even faster as
the cabin heater will have started to work, l can't see much benefit from having the heated seats and screen come on remotely as well.
Post #1021886 20th Jan 2024 1:39pm
Retroanaconda

Scotland 
I’m pretty sure the heated screens (front and rear) can be set to come on automatically when the car is started, if it is below a certain temperature?

Personally I wouldn’t see a huge benefit either as you still have to scrape the other windows and in the time it takes to do that the front and rear have defrosted nicely.
Post #1021891 20th Jan 2024 1:47pm
chpsk8

United States 
Using the app, I'm not convinced that the front/rear glass heaters actually turn on. If I just use the key and start the vehicle I know that they come on under a certain temp.

I agree that it would be great to be able to turn on the seat and glass on. When it's -12c or worse every minute counts.