↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Puma (Tdci) > P1103 MAF in range but higher than expected - translation?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Kez

Isle Of Man 
P1103 MAF in range but higher than expected - translation?
Hi all, in the last three weeks (ie since i bought t) I have had a P1103 code come up, first time local garage checked and said it was the MAF and nothing serious, just reset it, and again just now (this time I reset it myself). Its 'only' done 35k so surley cant be that knackered already (or can it Shocked )

My question(s) are what is a Mass Air Flow thing, and what does it do.

I am assuming it measure air coming into engine but thats just an uneducated guess. If it is higher then expected, what are the implications etc etc - as you can see I am not technically minded so please keep any replies suitable for half wits such as yours truly!

Cheers
Kerry
Post #69502 3rd May 2011 4:07pm
BigRuss

United Kingdom 2010 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 USW Santorini Black
As you say it meters the air as it comes though the filter. If you look at the filter box and then trace the hose towards the turbo you will see a section just on the outlet of the filter box with wires coming out of it, that's the MAS.

Some people have had them replaced after just a couple of hundred miles and others have never had them replaced, it's a case of pot luck if your works and pot luck is the dealer is willing to change it if there is a fault.

Russell Russell
2011MY 110 XS USW Black
Post #69515 3rd May 2011 4:49pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
Kez

Isle Of Man 
Cheer Russell, notice that the unit is actually just a (simple to replace) insert so just have to find someone who can supply one at a sensible cost
Post #69518 3rd May 2011 4:54pm
Lorryman100