↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Puma (Tdci) > Gear and transfer box fill points
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Milmur64

United Kingdom 2015 Defender 90 Puma 2.2 CSW Corris Grey
Hello,
I'm new to Defenders and have a Oct 2015 Puma 2.2 with DPF XS with 13k on the clock. Having read all the knowledgeable posts I decided to change the gear box oil and transfer box.
I have managed to identify the outlet plugs, but am struggling to identify the inlet plugs - can someone help me please?
For information I have researched via You Tube and a chap gave a demonstration on a 2.4 TDI, but I don't know if the gear and transfer box layout are the same?
Any help will bee much appreciated.
Regards
Jonathan
Post #643018 10th Aug 2017 8:13pm
OleDave

United Kingdom 2007 Defender 90 Puma 2.4 CSW Indus Silver
Hi Milmur 64, I just had all my oils changed this week in my 2.4 Puma, I cannot be 100% sure if the 2.2 is any different to the 2.4 but I would think its the same set up unless somebody can advise different, the top up on the transfer box is a little difficult to see as its tucked up behind the brake drum, difficult to undo but not impossible, the gearbox top is on the nearside of the box and up quite high, again not easy to spot or get at, if you have your service manual it might show you positions of both, the oil spec I imagine is the same as mine, ATF for the gearbox and EP 90 for the transfer box, but again maybe you need to check your handbook

During the recent service I had the front and rear diff oils changed, the rear was clean but the front had gone a grey colour for some reason, the only reason I could think of the change in colour is somehow its got contaminated by the one shot grease I have in the swivel joints?

Hope this helps you

Regards

Dave
Post #643123 11th Aug 2017 8:28am
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
Milmur64