↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Td5 > TD5 Head Gasket failing!
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
JR

Scotland 1984 Defender 90 200 Tdi SW Coniston Green
TD5 Head Gasket failing!
This is what I have just posted on the D2 forum for my road car (my Defender is a 1984 90SW). I hope it's ok to widen my info search by posting here too, if not I'll take a smacking later! Bow down

I have a sneaking suspicion that my head gasket is on its way out!

Symptoms:
Normal temp is just above Low but now goes to Half on motorways or when under load (AllySport Motorsport radiator)
No sign of water in oil (recent change)
Overflow bottle was full of clean pink fluid (just had thermostat changed as a precaution)

I studied Agricultural Engineering 30yrs ago and used to build and maintain my own rally cars so I'm reasonably sure of the diagnosis! But what is the usual repair prognosis with the TD5, this is my first and I've only had it since September. My motor is modified, it is decat'd, centre box delete, egr delete AllySport big Intercooler and an Alive chip aimed at Torque and mpg rather than pure HP. It also had a Terraclean a few weeks ago (see my other post).

Any ideas and comments greatly received as I can't talk to my Indy Garage till Monday!
Post #405362 7th Mar 2015 7:14pm
Fatboy Slim

Wales 
Hmm, doesn't sound like a great deal wrong there. Td5 heads and gaskets generally fail giving the symptom of a huge amount of pressure in the system and blowing the water out.

Whats your thermostat like?