↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > turbos and remaps.
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
MalteseRover

Malta 
turbos and remaps.
Hello,

my 15p is remapped to 180hp. It has a hybrid turbo. If any of you remembers well it was throwing oil into the exhaust (it is leaking from the turbo-tailpipe mating faces/gasket).

Will it affect the performance of the remap if I go for a standard turbo? I was having a conversation with a friend of mine who ran a heavily remapped td5 with a standard turbo and he told me that it won't matter much. He also told me that hybrid turbos were known to cause some issues here in Malta.

Thank you.
Post #1023142 31st Jan 2024 7:35pm
Craig772

United Kingdom 2000 Defender 90 Td5 CSW Oslo Blue
I am no expert but I am considering a stage 2 for my 10P TD5. In hot hatches I know that upgraded turbo's do make a difference so I assume the principle still applies here. The question I suppose is do they make much of a difference and is it noticeable on the road. That said I'd have thought that a good quality hybrid turbo would be stronger than a standard turbo so unless you're an absolute hooligan surely it would last longer. https://www.instagram.com/roxi_defender90/
Post #1023145 31st Jan 2024 8:07pm
barbel jim

United Kingdom 2005 Defender 90 Td5 HT Tonga Green
It’ll run but will be overfueling as fuel delivery won’t match available airflow. You’ll be chucking out plenty of black smoke!Best replace like for like. Or standard turbo, and new map to suit. 180 on a hybrid isn’t much mind, hybrids generally push 200? 180 is easily obtainable on a standard turbo
Post #1023164 31st Jan 2024 10:42pm
MalteseRover

Malta 
Thanks for the input.

I trust this person as he has been in land rovers, series up to td5s and his was really hard worked with plant trailers and told me that the standard turbo was ok on his map and it ran around 25 psi.