↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Events > BAMA 4x4 navigation events
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 2 of 2 <12
Print this entire topic · 
mwestcrew

United Kingdom 2011 Defender 130 Puma 2.4 HCPU Baltic Blue
2 night time events in 2023. The darkness adds a whole extra dimension to the challenge. The military guys driving green fleet vehicles had the most basic of halogen headlamps which can not have been easy.

Just to mention in order to enter a fully civilian team you need to join a civilian club that is affiliated.
The BAMA are brilliant in helping you through the paperwork first time out.

This year in adavance of one of the night events they ran a practice run for complete novices.

To note regarding vehicles you could do this in a brand new shiny truck with little or no scratching but being careful might put you at a speed disadvantage. The speed may be limited in theory but in order to make the checkpoints without penalties you do have to press on consistently. 2011 130 Utility Body
2005 110 Van
Post #1020539 8th Jan 2024 3:40pm
Screbble

United Kingdom 2004 Defender 90 Td5 XS CSW Zambezi Silver
Jon w wrote:
I have competed in these events for the last couple of years and they are the best events in the UK, a real good mix of skills and terrain and great fun competitive nature.

Really well organised and run by the Army and Land rover clubs involved. Well worth the effort of trekking to the south coast or scotland from mine in north wales. Although there was rumour of there being a welsh event for 2024 so fingers crossed.

Saxon express is on bovington tank training ground and associated roads and lanes.
Roadmaster (is not just roads) this had sites including the defence driver training school)

Mudmaster is over 250 stage miles over 2 days across scotland.

Magnum spirit is salisbury plain in the dark. (only one i haven't done as it a long way to go for about 6hours of in the seat driving time)