Home > Maintenance & Modifications > rear alarm door switch wiring
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
GrouseII

United Kingdom 2008 Defender 90 Puma 2.4 HT Coniston Green
rear alarm door switch wiring
Hi

I am wanting to refit my missing rear door alarm switch. I have zero knowledge of electrics so can someone just tell me I am doing the right thing - see photo.

I will cut into the purple/green cable and take a feed off to the switch and I will cut into the black cable and wire to the earth of the switch.

The reason I am confused is that clearly the switch used to be there (Previous owner bent back the striker plate) but there are no nice spare holes in the plug thingy for me to use which seems odd.

I did post a similar question 3 ish years ago but didnt ask about the actual wiring and lost confidence in having a go.

Looking forward to some clarification Smile

Many thanks

Grouseii

Click image to enlarge
Post #941565 8th Feb 2022 10:25am
LandRoverAnorak

United Kingdom 2013 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 USW Orkney Grey
The door switches only have one wire - an earth. Basically, they make contact with earth when released and break when pushed in. I don't know what wiring you've got but all you should need to do is tee into the earth wire to the nearest light. Darren

110 USW BUILD THREAD - EXPEDITION TRAILER - 200tdi 90 BUILD THREAD - SANKEY TRAILER - IG@landroveranorak

"You came in that thing? You're braver than I thought!" - Princess Leia
Post #941574 8th Feb 2022 10:42am
Martin
Site Admin

United Kingdom 2015 Defender 90 Puma 2.2 XS CSW Montalcino Red
You're looking for a single black female spade connector on a purple with blue stripe wire for the switch.

This wire will come down from the roof - perhaps it's been pulled up and tucked away?

Do you have central locking (doesn't appear so)? But if you the purple/blue for the door switch should follow the orange and pink central locking wires down from the roof.