↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > In Car Electronics > Focal ibus 20 sub setup. Not on? Power? Fault? Stupidity?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
pilsburypie

United Kingdom 2014 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 XS CSW Corris Grey
Focal ibus 20 sub setup. Not on? Power? Fault? Stupidity?
Hmmmmm, thought this was going to be easy. But need some advice after I’m not getting any power to the amp. Well to be more precise it’s not on.

I’ve got the factory Alpine head unit and standard front component speakers at present. 2014 110 xs

I’ve connected the amp via the rca low level inputs, not used the supplied wiring harness, connected a single remote wire to the sub straight from the back of the stereo. Wired battery and chassis ground…. Gone to head unit settings sub on. But no power.

I’m no expert as you can see but thought this was an easy task. Do I need that complex wiring loom if I’m using low level connection and direct power wiring? Didn’t think so. Is this the issue?

Any advice appreciated as I thought I’d be marvelling at the amazing sound right now!
Post #913911 24th Jul 2021 9:31pm
Smyles_

Denmark 2008 Defender 130 Puma 2.4 HCPU Cairns Blue
By the sounds of it you've done everything correctly.

Seeing as you say it's a power problem:

Maybe worth checking the fuses, I popped one of mine whilst installing my sub by accident.

Might also be worth checking with a multimeter that your remote wire is in fact sending 12 V to the sub for it to turn on.

I assume you have a thick enough gauge of wire for power/length of cable run? They can draw a fair amount of amps. Mine has a peak of 400 W and a RMS of ~200 W and I had to buy a relatively thick wire to run mine to the back of the cab. Focal specify a 3.3 mm^2 wire for a length of 5 m (source).