↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Wheels & Tyres > Tubed Tyre inc Tube on Tubeless wheel ?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Ianh

United Kingdom 
Tubed Tyre inc Tube on Tubeless wheel ?
As a spare wheel for my penman trailer I have an unused Avon range master 7.50 r16 Tubed Tyre. I now need to acquire a steel rim on which to fit it. Either a standard rim or a wider wolf rim. The latter being my preference.

The Question in my mind.

Can I fit a Tubed tyre including inner tube onto a Tubeless rim ?
I’m aware that I will need an inner tube with a wider diameter valve, or a valve adapter to make it wider. Also that the inner surface of the tyre needs be very clean and smooth, including the removal of any labels and adhesive residue, and that a Michelin inner tube is the best tube to use.

So can a Tubed tyre with an inner tube safely and legally be used on a Tubeless steel rim ?
I would prefer using a Tubeless rim as I can then use a Tubeless tyre at a later date.

Expert views appreciated
Post #897381 11th Apr 2021 10:38am
blackwolf

United Kingdom 2007 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 DCPU Stornoway Grey
That should be fine, the only difficulty you may have is that the lip in the rim for seating the bead of a tubeless tyre makes it harder to fit or remove.
Post #897406 11th Apr 2021 12:13pm
Supacat

United Kingdom 2013 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 XS DCPU Keswick Green
I have that setup on another vehicle as it was prone to the beads coming off the rims and totally deflating the tyres when running at low pressures.

Only issue is the opposite ~ getting the beads to seat when inflating the tubes!
Post #897493 11th Apr 2021 4:38pm
Ianh

United Kingdom 
Thanks Blackwolf , I was hoping that would be the answer. Now to find a wolf rim and the right Michelin tube Very Happy