↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Off Topic > Unusual Engineering Tools
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Bluest

United Kingdom 2007 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Java Black
Unusual Engineering Tools
A close friend of the family passed away recently. He was toolmaker by trade, long since retired. His daughter asked me did I want his tools as they didn't know anyone "into DIY" and I dabble in a bit of metal work occasionally.

Most of the stuff is run of the mill DIY gear, but there a few bits and pieces left over from his working days that I thought some folk may find interesting and a few things you might be able to help be identify.

So, interesting tool no.1 is a junior hacksaw. Not really unusual except this one was hand made, probably when he was an apprentice 60 years ago.

Click image to enlarge

More to follow... 2007 110 TDCi Station Wagon XS
Post #873158 15th Dec 2020 9:51pm
Rashers

United Kingdom 2014 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 USW Corris Grey
That is great Thumbs Up

I made a junior hacksaw in metalwork at school in 1982. The handle was aluminium and was hand shaped. They are a brilliant metalwork training as there is shaping, bending, cutting and threading which are all useful skills for an engineer in training.

I would love to show you a picture of mine, but I haven’t a clue where it is 40 years on Sad

Mine was no where near as nice as that.
Post #873161 15th Dec 2020 10:02pm
Bluest

I love that it seems to have then been used for the decades after it was made too. I made a hand vise when I was learning. Machining, drilling and tapping, but no bending. Don't think I finished it Rolling Eyes

Tool no.2. looks like a big chisel, but has a square tip. I believe this is called a scraper that was used to put a hand finish on machined surfaces so that they would retain oil.

Click image to enlarge

Click image to enlarge
 2007 110 TDCi Station Wagon XS
Post #873164 15th Dec 2020 10:16pm
csw110

United Kingdom