Home > Europe > Registering a Defender in the UK
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
jpm

Russia 2011 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 X-Tech LE Orkney Grey
Registering a Defender in the UK
Hi all!

Can someone from the UK please advise me on the procedure of a vehicle temporary registration in London? I tried to reach DVLA explaining my case but could not find any email or feedback forms on their web-page.

The thing is that I am thinking about bringing my Defender form a non-EU country to the UK for 1-3 years while I am studying here. The car was slightly modified (suspension kit, Safety roll-cage, ARB front and back bumpers et.c) and all those changes were certified/documented in my host country. So now I am wondering whether those modifications could cause troubles when registering the car in the UK? How likely that I would be asked to de-install everything, which was not in stock? Maybe bringing a Defender to his homeland is a bad idea?

Appreciate for your feedback!

Cheers,
Post #848595 7th Aug 2020 9:25pm
Race.it

Spain 2010 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 SW Alaska White
Don’t think there is a temp registration thing.

It’s just import a car to the UK on the dvla site how old is it?

More than 10 years then it’s convert the lights, speedo to read in mph Mot it insure it on the vin then request a number plate from the dvla. If it’s from outside of Europe then you also need to do nova when it’s brought in and other that tax.

I have registered a car from Sweden using the above and also a truck from the US.

Dvla website allows you to request the import pack which they send you.

Not had an issue with mods unlike Spain where the car has to be exact to manufactures spec to import it. Searching for my first Defender...and started just as Covid hit, so talk about timing.

5 months after starting the search I found it, and here is the details
Post #848613 8th Aug 2020 5:57am
Race.it