↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > In Car Electronics > Install Advice
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
trailbear

United Kingdom 
Install Advice
I am asking this question with trepidation as I am a relative novice with the vast choice of Stereo equipment available so please don't hammer me with derision at my obvious lack of technical knowledge.

I have a 2014 110 CSW which has been recently acquired, The original head unit has been replaced so I am assuming that the ISO connection has been updated from Landrovers own choice.

I intend to use the Pioneer AVH-Z7200DAB head unit as I do not want to start hacking into the dash to install a double din unit.
I would like pair this with The ESK 100K Speaker and Tweeter Package along with the Focal IBus 2.1 Subwoofer and upgrading the rear speakers for the Focal PC130 speakers in the rear ( or the Focal PC100 to avoid more cutting ).
This is where I show my limited knowledge.
From what I can gather, the front speakers are running through Subwoofer but what about the rear speakers, do they have to be run through a separate amp or should I just leave them as they are?
Is there something that would run the whole unit in a one size fits all solution.
Is it worth running a better speaker wire?
I am not looking for the boy racer type install I would just like something simple with a better sound.

The vehicle will be soundproofed as well which will help with the comfort / sound levels.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.
Post #830453 11th May 2020 11:34am
The Zee

United Kingdom 2014 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 USW Indus Silver
There are a couple of options :

AVH-Z7200DAB has 3 RCA Pre-Outs (F, R & Sub) so one option is to use the Focal IBus 2.1 Subwoofer with the front Pre-out and power the front speakers and the sub it’s self, and get a small amp for the rear speakers (since the head unit has no onboard amp/output).