Home > Off Topic > Vidoe calling system recomendations
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
ARC99

United Kingdom 2008 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 USW Cairns Blue
Vidoe calling system recomendations
recommendations required.

In anticipation of my mother who is 90+ and myself having to stay in doors I'm looking at the purchase of a video calling system.

To my shame I haven't kept up to date with tech since leaving full time employment 18 years ago so I have no knowledge of what is needed other than the item and the internet which we both have even though she keeps it switched off as she does not have a computer of any kind other than her built in one.

What extra kit do I need to set my mothers system up. Don't make old people mad.
We don't like being old in the first place,
so it doesn't take much to Censored us off.

Richard
Post #819863 16th Mar 2020 4:33pm
nick345345

Scotland 2012 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 USW Baltic Blue
you could try Amazon Alexa devices with screens (Echo Show 5 or Cool - I use them with my mum
Post #819864 16th Mar 2020 4:46pm
Chopperone

United Kingdom 
Alexa as mentioned - probably about the cheapest solution.
Can also be used to turn lights etc on/off , set reminders for medication , music streaming , news & countless other things. May your life be like toilet paper ; long & useful.
Post #819865 16th Mar 2020 5:08pm
ARC99

United Kingdom 2008 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 USW Cairns Blue
All we as a family need is a system that allows video calling, none of this constantly listening to everything you say.
We are still able to stand up and walk to a switch to turn the lights on and off etc.. Don't make old people mad.
We don't like being old in the first place,
so it doesn't take much to Censored us off.

Richard
Post #819866 16th Mar 2020 5:13pm
hank

Wales 2007 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 DCPU Stornoway Grey
You may find you already have the kit you need. Smartphones? iPad or tablet? PC or laptop with webcam? > 110 XS Double Cab