Home > Td5 > Couple of questions!
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
rich_allen

United Kingdom 2002 Defender 90 Td5 HT Coniston Green
Couple of questions!
Afternoon all,

I'm new to the TD% defenders having recently picked up my first one.
Its a 2002 face lift basic van (Ex Farm Truck)

I was under the impression that they were all pre-wired for rear speakers but cant seem to find any wires?
I also ordered new door switches for the interior light and I don't have one on the back door, the hole is present etc just no switch or wire. Is this normal? Am I going to have to run my own?

Lastly... lol... for now... Has anyone retro fitted central locking and electric windows to a basic spec one. Hoping to do this with OEM wiring etc.

Most uncomfortable thing i've ever driven but i love it.. lol

Cheers Rich
Post #809179 7th Jan 2020 12:56pm
4RF RDS

Canada 2000 Defender 110 Td5 XS CSW Epsom Green
Speaker wires are not likely present, rear door light switch wires are also not likely present, power door locks and windows will require new wiring to be added. All this is actually fairly simple to do. Its just a bit of a PITA. I installed windows and door locks on my 2000 MY 110. It took me about four hours for all four door locks to wire them in.

It took about three hours total for two front door power window installs. When you do pull your door panels, and roof liner its a good idea to install sound deadener (butyl with aluminum backing). Glue it onto door skins and roof, this really reduces resonance and makes driving more pleasurable.

Good luck and welcome to the addiction. Thumbs Up 2010 Range Rover MkIII Autobiography Super Charged (Idris)
2003 Range Rover Mk III (Desmond FitzWilliam)
2000 Defender 110 CSW TD5 (CTX)
1992 Range Rover Classic (Lizzy)
1972 Series III 300 Tdi (Stanwood)
1967 MGB GT

Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin to slit throats.
H. L. Mencken (1880 - 1956)