↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > In Car Electronics > heated seat wiring into existing fuse box - puma
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
deaallen

United Kingdom 2012 Defender 90 Puma 2.2 SW Santorini Black
heated seat wiring into existing fuse box - puma
Sorry if this has already been posted, I have searched but the threads I found are either really old and referencing pictures no longer available or don't answer my questions

Basically I want to add an AUX fuse box into my battery compartment, this will mainly be for a heated seat loom, heated windscreen and possibly DRL - all to be ignition switched.

I'm very new to automotive electrics (but willing to learn) so I'm not sure what would be the best way to achieve this or what I need to buy?

From my understanding, I need a (mega fused??) feed from the battery to a voltage sensing relay, this should take a feed from an existing ignition live? which will then feed into the positive bus on the fuse box. Then need to run a negative from the - bus to the battery's negative. Then I should have a ignition fed fuse box no?

- I'm also very confused buy what kind of gauge wire I need from the battery and the amp of mega fuse and relay I need. I've read that there are online calculators but I don't know what kind of amperage the heated seats etc will draw...

The fuse box I have ordered is a 6way 100amp rated one with a bus for both positive and negatives.

Thanks

Last edited by deaallen on 7th Oct 2019 9:36am. Edited 1 time in total
Post #794156 20th Sep 2019 10:23am
deaallen

Just had a thought, considering I'm mainly adding things which come standard with the XS spec, could I just use the existing fuse box thats in there and just source the missing wiring?
Post #794160 20th Sep 2019 11:28am
deaallen

So I've spent all morning looking into this, the main thing I'm trying to accomplish is to get my heated seats working before the cold weather sets in, to that end I've found the following: