↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Mantec Wheel Carrier woes.
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
petestaunch

United Kingdom 2008 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 HT Keswick Green
Mantec Wheel Carrier woes.
Hoping someone can help.

I have a 110 Puma Hardtop.

It came with the bog standard steel wheels and a rattling back door. I moved the door striker and that seemed to fix the rattle on all but the biggest bumps in the road. It has been suggested to me that the door frame might be cracked - I don't know where to look for this, or that the hinges might be on the way out, though I don't see any sign of this.

I have upgraded to 18' Sawtooth Alloys with some pretty chunky tyres and have fitted a Mantec Swing Away wheel carrier because I had read here that they were held in high regard. I have also purchased mantec spacers so the wheel sits flush on the carrier. I am by no means a mechanic but I believe i've done a tidy enough job fitting it though the bolt and washer instructions I had for the 'piston' were a little unclear.

The rattle has been unbearable and i've tried everything I can do to stop it. I've made sure the wheel is flush on the carrier, the carrier arm is solid etc, all to no avail.

First Question - Do swing away arms just rattle?

My second question - with regards to the Mantec swingarm references the photo below. I have these two bolts, a washer and I did have a 15mm thick rubber washer that fitted over the piston and I assumed gripped the inside of the arm to stop it rattling. The instructions refer to a rubber washer but this seems to be rather large to be referred to as a washer plus i've destroyed it now by tightening it so much so i'll need to buy another in any event.