↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Puma (Tdci) > Another faulty VCV ?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
lrMike

Greece 
Another faulty VCV ?
Hello.

My 110SW MY 2010 has done 128.000kms with every single one of them bringing a huge smile in my face.

During those 6 years the following problem occured (5-6 times). Important note is that NO FAULT CODES are stored or engine light on.

While driving (most of the times with 4th gear high ratio) the throttle pedal became unresponsive. The revs remained constant even if I pressed the pedal to the metal. During all those times the problem was solved when I started playing up and down with the throttle pedal or when I lowered gear to 3rd or 2nd. It was not solved instantly but after 3-4 attempts of this up and down procedure. Apart from the following driver's "unhealthy" reaction I didn't have any other problem and in my mind was saved as another LR aspect of its character.

During the last two weeks however, the same problem reappeared maybe 10 consecutive times which is too much and I realised that it started being unsafe. On top of that, there was two times when the idle was chasing up and down (500 - 800 rpm play). The second time, I had to press the throttle pedal in order to keep revs up because the engine was ready to stop going under 400rpm.

The tank was 1/4 full at that time and I thought that maybe it would help to fill it up. I did that and when I started the engine again with full tank it reacted as normal without any problems since then.

I searched a lot in the forum for similar problems and my first thought would be a faulty VCV.

Your help on that is highly appreciated since I am doing a "small" 1400km trip to Romania several times during the winter months for job and it will be a major problem if I break down during the night in some ex-Yugoslavian B-road.

So, is it the VCV? Is it something else? Is it the VCV AND something else?

Thank you very much in advance,

Mike