↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Td5 > Wire in Loom
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
mgb21

United Kingdom 
Wire in Loom
I know its been covered all over the place but I'm new to the Td5.

So after reading some general stuff about finding wire in the loom, affecting performance etc. i had a look at the ECU on my own 03 Td5. Needless to say there is oil in the red connector and the reciever on the ECU.

Can anybody let me know what needs to be done about this....

1. keep cleaning up both ends
2. what can be done about stoppinig this from happening again in the future?
3. does the original oil covered loom need replacing
-is this an expensive/complicated job?

any advice appreciated

Matt 03 90 County Td5
Post #44685 8th Nov 2010 8:49pm
Steve B

United Kingdom 2000 Defender 90 Td5 SW Caledonian Blue
Yea, my loom has wire in it too Laughing

The newer looms are apparently better and it is apparently fiddly but doable if you fairly competent. Not done it myself but going to as a preventative shortly.

I am going to do the injector seals too while the cam cover is off, don't forget to get a new cam cover gasket too.

Steve
Post #44686 8th Nov 2010 8:54pm
stevie d

United Kingdom 2003 Defender 90 Td5 SW Alpine White
Try this post from LR 4x4 Technical Archive

http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?s=dbf5f0...opic=42788

Not done it myself, but looks simple enough.

Steve Thumbs Up Defender 90 TD5 Station Wagon
Discovery 3 HSE
BMW 330i Coupe
Post #44687 8th Nov 2010 9:13pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
Paul_1978

England 2004 Defender 90 Td5 CSW Zermatt Silver
I replaced the injector loom under the rocker cover.

Read up on "how to" in LRO (September 2010 issue i think).

You need the loom and the gasket for the rocker cover, cost around £45 for the lot.

As for the plug, after replacing the loom oil will still seep out, after time this will stop.