↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > In Car Electronics > Need some advice regarding ICE for a rebuild
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
chrispy

Wales 1987 Defender 90 300 Tdi CSW Keswick Green
Need some advice regarding ICE for a rebuild
I need some component advice regarding a rebuild i'm doing on a 90. I'd like to get all the ICE sorted before the interior goes in etc so any advice would be much appreciated as I am totally new to this. Firstly, starting out i'd like everything other than the double din head unit discreet so what I was thinking is installing little tweeters into the fake air vents in the top of this RDX command console (pictured below obviously lol) I am about to install.

When you pop out the fake air vents the hole across measures just 5 1/2cm but can be widened to possibly 6 1/2cm. I thought this would be an ideal space to install tweeters as i've been told they should be located at the front of the vehicle anyway and the air vents do Censored all and are just for show. Does that sound ok?

My wife has set her mind on a double din android head unit so she can use her Sygic sat nav and her phone/music through blue tooth without having any extra boxes installed so that's non negotiable. She likes the aSure double din android 4.4.4 GPS HD.

The rest like amp and speakers I need advice on also. What would you guys who are well up on your sounds recommend? I've been looking at In-Phase components like the XTC 13.2 directional speakers and the IPA Amps which look good value for money. I want her to have a really nice sound in there but it doesn't need to feel like the Royal Philharmonic are in the back playing if you know what I mean. Also, should I put a sub in there too? Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Post #429722 9th Jun 2015 12:42pm
custom90

United Kingdom 
Is there already a tweeter set fitted?
Post #429725 9th Jun 2015 1:00pm
chrispy