↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Td5 > Injector harness sealing
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
mk1collector

England 2004 Defender 110 Td5 CSW Bonatti Grey
Injector harness sealing
Having searched for how to's on sealing my injector harness because oil had reached the ecu again, info seemed to be few and far between and not very many pictures were available so I thought I'd put together a little guide so anyone who needs it gets a rough idea of what's involved. Firstly I'd like to say I'm not a mechanic and will take no responsibility for people having problems from following this guide Mr. Green So first get your new injector harness in front of you (I'd recommend either genuine or oem only) it should look like this.

Click image to enlarge

The five black plugs that clip on to your injectors need removing first and this is done by lifting the little "tang" at the back of the plug and sliding off forwards to look like this.

Click image to enlarge

Also the metal top cover of the plug that goes through the head needs levering off being careful not to damage any wires.

Click image to enlarge

Once the covers are removed you need your sealer. The sealer should be both oil resistant and none conductive so a little time should be taken to research which sealer is best at the time you do this job as sealers change all the time.
Firstly I clip the top of the white plugs that the black plugs were removed from so the back of the wires are visible

Click image to enlarge

aply a small amount of sealer so the bare section of wire is covered and then close the top of the White plug fully so the sealer is contained

Click image to enlarge

Now sealer needs to be applied to the top of the larger plug making sure the sealer goes all around the wires and into the top of the metal terminals.

Click image to enlarge
 Ray
My build thread
http://www.defender2.net/forum/topic17615.html
Post #422384 10th May 2015 1:16pm
mk1collector