Home > Puma (Tdci) > Rechargeable battery backup Sounder
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
WelshGas

Wales 2010 Defender 90 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Santorini Black
Rechargeable battery backup Sounder
Hi,
I know the Puma alarm system can have a Land Rover rechargeable Backup Sounder fitted but the OEM unit is fairly expensive and may also require an addition to the wiring loom.
My question - Can you fit a 3rd party rechargeable battery sounder such as this one;
[url] http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Siren-1Tone-for-...3ef[/url].
If so, how do you wire it so as to sound when the battery is disconnected? I'm not an electrician so any advice would be appreciated. The + and - tve supply is straight forward but help with where to connect the white + trigger or blue - tve trigger wire has me stumped.
I would presume that as the sounder works even with all the wires cut it might require a constant + or - tve supply so once charged up if either is disrupted then the alarm sounds ? Whistle LANDYWATCH

Neighbourhood Watch for Land Rover Owners

http://www.landywatch.co.uk/smf2/index.php
Post #194960 19th Dec 2012 7:28pm
K9F

United Kingdom 2008 Defender 90 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Stornoway Grey
All you're buying from the link is the sounder alone.

Yes you can fit an autonamous sounder but will require the remaining piece-part spares and wiring to complete. All the parts are readily available from RS Components. An undervoltage relay/drop out relay, 12 volt rechargeable NiCad battery pack and some wiring is all you need. With a suitable microswitch you can also hook up the bonnet too. When/if the main battery cables are cut/disconnected or the bonnet raised the undervoltage sensor picks this up and all hell breaks loose. If you go through life with your head in the sand....all people will see is an ar5e!!

Treat every day as if it is your last....one day you will be right!!
Post #194975 19th Dec 2012 8:01pm
Tiger

2004 Defender 110 Td5 CSW Java Black