↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Expedition & Overland > Nordkapp 2012 - Experiences 5 Things I'd do differently
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
SteveS

England 2009 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 USW Santorini Black
Nordkapp 2012 - Experiences 5 Things I'd do differently
These 5 articles reflect MY experiences and MY thoughts on the subject. I am NOT an expert in Arctic survival and therefore you must do your own research and your own preparation and do not rely on the information presented here in good faith.

I hope you find these 5 articles useful/informative

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Things I’d do differently
1 - More insulation around the floor and footwell area; the metallised plastic door liners I think worked OK.
2 - Even though I have a 5 seat county utility the area behind the front row seats was cold and held its cold temperature due to the huge number of clothes, bags and suchlike not allowing warm air to flow around the truck – this is both positive (less air to heat) and negative (the ice-box conditions on the rear floor);
3 - I wouldn’t go out of my way to buy a rad-muff for a TDCi – it seemed to make little difference;
4 - For extended trips (say to Siberia) I would consider an air-heater to supplement the Webasto in the coldest conditions to keep the occupants warm. Consider a ceramic fan heater to keep the inside driver’s and passenger’s door window clear of ice on the inside;
5 - Fit an oil breather heater to TDCi;
6 - Keep my Snow boots in a heated environment when not in use. Wearing boots that have been stored in the truck overnight at say -20C means that you will bathe your feet in this temperature for hours;
7 - The reindeer skins we purchased in the UK (sealed skin backs) worked very well at keeping warm but they were a pain to store – they were always in the way and unravelled – find a simple strap solution to keep them neatly rolled up. We initially had them on the two front seats but this became impractical;