↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Off Topic > Speed bumps give me the right hump
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 3 123>
Print this entire topic · 
gilarion

Wales 2007 Defender 90 Other CSW Trident Green
Speed bumps give me the right hump
My local council in its wisdom has increased the hight of several speed humps in my locale, some are now mirroring the height of the local mountains. Laughing

Now I fully appreciate the original rationale behind putting these miniature pyramids on urban roads; it was to ‘calm’ traffic, with the aim of reducing accidents and even saving lives. It was well-meaning, right.

Well obviously, I am no expert on the subject, but I question whether they achieve their goal to any significant extent, and I reckon that they may actually be more trouble than they’re worth. As far as I can see, self-styled ‘real’ drivers of the ‘boy racer’ (and increasingly ‘girl racer’) persuasion see them as a challenge rather than a deterrent and hurtle across them as though they are on safari. On the other hand, your thoughtful, more responsible driver is mindful of the speed limit anyway, and if anything s/he probably finds the presence of these hulking obstructions every few yards to be a source of irritation and frustration, which might, in turn, lead to loss of concentration or even ‘road rage’.

I’d also bet that humps are a factor in channelling traffic away from roads where they’re present onto those where they aren’t, just moving the speed management issue elsewhere, and increasing congestion in the process. It is my view then that these lumps might not just be ineffective, but actually counter-productive.