↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Raised air intake
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
gilly1969

United Kingdom 
Raised air intake
Hi everyone. I would like to fit a raised air intake to a 1987 Defender 90. The original engine has been replaced with a 200tdi from a Discovery I believe - see attached pic. When I bought it an RAI was fitted to the left hand side. When I removed the RAI to start renovating I found it was purely cosmetic - there was no air intake aperture cut into the left wing. As far as I can make out, I have wing top mounted intake on the left hand side for the heater, but I can't for the life of me see where the engine air intake is or leads to. Do I need to replace the left hand outer wing for one with a pre-cut hole and re-route the engine air intake somehow, or is the wing top intake the only intake there is? Absolute novice. Please help!

Click image to enlarge
Post #592845 13th Jan 2017 4:23pm
LandRoverAnorak

United Kingdom 2013 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 USW Orkney Grey
On pre-tdi Land Rovers the air intake was taken from behind the headlight and it looks like your conversion has retained that approach. To fit an RAI you'll need to either fit a new 200tdi wing with the correct hole in the side or cut one yourself and then re-route the pipework to suit. You'll also need a 200tdi air filter box, I think. Darren

110 USW BUILD THREAD - EXPEDITION TRAILER - 200tdi 90 BUILD THREAD - SANKEY TRAILER - IG@landroveranorak

"You came in that thing? You're braver than I thought!" - Princess Leia
Post #592849 13th Jan 2017 4:35pm
charcoal

United Kingdom 2005 Defender 110 Td5 HT Bonatti Grey