↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Swing away spare wheen carrier
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Leese7en

Swing away spare wheen carrier
Hi newbie here, please be gentle with me...!

I've just removed my Defender 110 tow bar drop plate to stop it ploughing when off-roading and bolted my nato hitch directly on the cross member. I've now not got enough room to open the hitch with the rear door closed and spare in the normal position.

Do any of the swing away carriers position the wheel any higher? or do I have to just accept I have to open the door every time I hook up.

Advice appreciated Very Happy

Lee
Post #376586 5th Dec 2014 1:29pm
blackwolf

United Kingdom 2007 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 DCPU Stornoway Grey
I can't answer your questions (no experience with swing-aways for Defender with rear doors, though lots for tailgate types), but ref. the NATO pintle, did you remember to fit the requisite reinforcing plate to the crossmember.

It rather depends on the year of your Defender, but certainly TD5 and TDCi crossmembers (and I think earlier too) are not considered strong enough to take the NATO pintle directly unless a reinforcing plate is used.

I think the part no is KNK500030
Post #376591 5th Dec 2014 1:36pm
Leese7en

Thanks Blackwolf, I remembered an engineer friend made them for me, 110 300 tdi.

Click image to enlarge

Click image to enlarge
Post #376605 5th Dec 2014 2:04pm
leeds

United Kingdom 
No simple answer to your question as it depends partly on what size tyres you are running on.

A Nato hitch is not suitable for normal towing of trailers as it is far too high.

Running on 255/85/16 with a Safari Equip wheel carrier here it moves the spare wheel to the right. Measurements with the 255/85 on central vertical line you have 1.5" clearance from top of rear cross member and it is 5" inboard from the edge of the tub. With a smaller diameter tyre those measurements would increase.