↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Puma (Tdci) > VCV - vapour control valve?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Caterham

England 2011 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 XS CSW Stornoway Grey
VCV - vapour control valve?
as mentioned before I'm no mechanic / diesel / combustion engineer.....

but I'd like to try and understand what the above part does because it almost seems like an un-necessary sensor when you consider there's a fuel rail pressure sensor?

so what does it measure and how does that affect other aspects of the fuel delivery system?
Post #292703 23rd Dec 2013 2:31pm
Lorryman100

First off its not a sensor, VCV is the Volume Control Valve. The VCV is located on the high-pressure side of the fuel pump. The valve regulates the fuel supply (and hence the quantity of fuel) coming from the transfer pump (low pressure side working on a vacuum of -20 to -30 Kpa) to the high-pressure side of the fuel pump, it is controlled directly from the EMS opening and closing depending on the fuel pressure of the rail, engine power demands etc. This makes it possible to match the delivery of the high-pressure fuel pump to the requirements of the engine from the low-pressure side, ie enough fuel is available on the high pressure side of the pump to allow maximum rail pressure and engine fuelling requirements to maintain a steady delivery of power from the engine. HTH Thumbs Up

A previous post

Lorryman100 wrote:

If none is found then I would move onto the Fuel pump, but first let me explain how it works.