↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > In Car Electronics > Led v halogen ...advice please
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 4 1234>
Print this entire topic · 
Calder

United Kingdom 2005 Defender 90 Td5 PU Coniston Green
Led v halogen ...advice please
First of all apologies if this question has been asked and answered many times before but... I could really use some guidance and advice. I’m not technical or mechanical. And more importantly i’m not magical either. That is to say I cannot see in the dark... which is why I need to upgrade the headlights on my treasured 2005 TD5 pick up. However I don’t know enough to make a sensible decision. I was thinking that Wipac crystal lamps (£40) with decent halogen bulbs (e.g. Osram night breaker laser...£20) would be a good solution for under £100 (allowing for new stainless bezels and bits). However, it sounds as though the bulbs might fry my electrics over time and that unless I upgrade my wiring i won’t get the best out of the lamps anyway on th basis that they won’t be able to draw the power they need. The posts i’ve read mention loom upgrades. No idea what a loom even is. Like I said, not technical/mechanical/magical. Or made of money for that matter. Some of the LED options are out of my price range. However, the expensive ones make me suspicious of the cheaper ones - such as Britpart’s lynx eye which at £340 isn’t cheap but is just about affordable. I believe the lower power demands of the LEDs would mean my existing wiring wouldn’t need to be upgraded - which of course increases that actual cost of the halogen option. I am going round in circles trying to make a decision. Please would someone put me out of my misery Big Cry and kindly tell me what to do? These are my questions:
1) Will a fancy halogen bulb fry my existing wires over time?
2) Will my existing wires cause a fancy halogen bulb to underperform?
3) Are mid-range mid-price LEDs worth having?
4) Am I right in thinking LEDs avoid the need to upgrade my wiring?