↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > In Car Electronics > WIPAC LED relay, Dash Tell Tale, and Trailer light woes...
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Al_Brown

United Kingdom 1989 Defender 110 200 Tdi CSW Rutland Red
WIPAC LED relay, Dash Tell Tale, and Trailer light woes...
Hi all, I'm after some advice please.

I've done a few hours reading and also used the forums search function but to no specific avail. I am also a Chartered Engineer so I get the wiggly amps thing quite well but this is frustrating me!!!

I have an ex military 110 (89 plate). Lionel is getting a full restoration albeit rather slowly. He is now on the road and it's cosmetics next.
It previously had 2 electrical towing sockets.
I have fitted the WIPAC LED upgrade and relay.

I had to remove the dash lamp (bulbs grow in soil ☺️😆😝) as I was getting a trickle voltage to the opposing side indicators and lighting them up (dimly) when using the indicators. Hazards work fine. All works fine without the tell tale lamp in the dash. I had no trailer tell tale lamp indicating on the dash at all (towing or not).

I went to tow a trailer and had to faff running a temporary earth to get it back home with working indicators.

I have now REMOVED all of the towing connection wiring and returned it to standard, and checked both the rear earths and remade some.

I now have the following symptoms:
1. Trailer tell tale always on?
2. Can't run the tell tale indicator lamp in the dash.

I assume I still have a poor earth somewhere and that is causing the trickle voltage to the opposing indicators, so I'll be going through them and doing new earths and then the DIODE bodge (ahem) modification, if I can't get it to play properly.

My questions are:

Is the RDX relay the answer to all my problems? Will it sort the trailer tell tale and or allow me to run the indicator tell tale lamp too???