Home > 130 > Demountable on 130
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
Tissue box

United Kingdom 2007 Defender 130 Puma 2.4 HCPU Tonga Green
Demountable on 130
Hi,
I am a newbie to posting on forums so I hope I am doing this correctly .
I have a Tischer demountable recently acquired which is the correct model for my LHD Defender 130 Puma 2.4.
The vehicle is ten years old but is in very good condition and had an easy life in France I gather.
Having loaded the demountable onto the Defender I was disappointed to see so much sag on the

Click image to enlarge

rear suspension and over 50 mph the Defender starts to move around more than I would wish. I am hoping the addition of full air suspension will solve the instability and sag. I can only assume coils shockers and bushes are too tired to support the camper(912kg) with most of weight eg leisure batteries and fresh water low down in front of the back axle.
There was a post here a couple of years ago showing a 130 with an Artic camper loaded and a very neat idea for the spare wheel as this is also a problem when the camper is loaded. I wonder if this 130 had air. The German factory who make the box fit air as standard onto 130 for their German customers .
Have other people experienced instability when such a camper has been loaded.

Thanks

Richard

Click image to enlarge

Click image to enlarge
Post #589331 1st Jan 2017 11:01pm
mk1collector

England 2004 Defender 110 Td5 CSW Bonatti Grey
With something that big I'd say air is a must and if the factory fit them as standard to most 130s it will be with good reason. Ray
My build thread
http://www.defender2.net/forum/topic17615.html
Post #589357 2nd Jan 2017 1:24am
GREENI

United Kingdom 
There's a member of the forum who sells demountables, I can't remember who though Embarassed

It does look like it's squat down, I bet the steering is light!!

I'd be interested to see pics of the inside?
Post #589363 2nd Jan 2017 7:36am
Projectblue

England