↓ Advertise on Defender2 ↓

Home > Maintenance & Modifications > Homebrew Santorini Black?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Print this entire topic · 
agentmulder

Kuwait 
Homebrew Santorini Black?
Gidday all,

I'd like to approximate either Santorini Black, or if that's impossible just a satin/'accessory' black finish on my 110 roof:

Click image to enlarge

I know it looks fine with the Cairns Blue roof, so why? >> Because of some scratches from the previous owners 'adventures' with his roof rack.. Neutral

I have a small silent compressor on hand - not sure if it's got the pep required to keep up pressure across a full spray though:

Click image to enlarge

Is the gloss/clear coat something I can manage at home?

Imagine I'm a complete beginner, but keen to try and have a bit of patience... It is summer down here which is helpful but I'm yet to source a closed in area..

Mostly horizontal surface (that I will not remove) but I will remove some silicon sealant used to solve a possible leak.

What are the steps, tools and considerations or its this just a no go in your respective opinions?

Doesn't need to match Santorini, but at least go in that direction. Solved the bowel problem, working on the consonants...
Post #592334 12th Jan 2017 12:31am
Chopperone

United Kingdom 
I have two compressors one of which looks almost identical to yours.
That really won't work for spraying & you will need water trap etc etc.

IF you are determined to spray it yourself I think you would be better advised to do all the prep work, masking off etc & then let a professional spray it.
The prep work is probably the most important/ labour intensive part so by doing this you can save a fair bit.
Just my two penny worth.
Guy May your life be like toilet paper ; long & useful.
Post #592351 12th Jan 2017 7:55am
mattp

Australia 2016 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 SW Santorini Black