Print this entire topic · 
Silverfox1970

United Kingdom 2015 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 XS CSW Santorini Black
Tunit box
Has anyone tried a tunit box on new defender puma? Any good? Thanks
Post #476556 26th Nov 2015 11:03pm
Pickles

Australia 2013 Defender 90 Puma 2.2 CSW Keswick Green
I am NOT an expert, but I believe that these "tuning boxes" simply "piggyback" your standard ECU & "persuade" it to do stuff other than the norm, and I wouln't use one.
I suggest that you talk to Pete at B.A.S., or Alive, where you will be able to obtain a proper ECU tune for YOUR vehicle.
Plenty of info on here about tunes, Pickles.
Post #476585 26th Nov 2015 11:43pm
Silverfox1970

Thanks, just thought good idea to be able to unplug something as under warranty
Post #476587 26th Nov 2015 11:48pm
grizz

2014 Defender 110 Puma 2.2 XS CSW Corris Grey
I had one a good few years ago .. Not cheap and not very good .
Get a map from bas and you'll also get a new ecu so when it's service time pop the original one back in
Post #476590 27th Nov 2015 12:02am
custom90

United Kingdom 
If you get an Alive map like I have you can revert back to the standard map using the ATRIC device.
Afterwards re-load the Alive map.
Thumbs Up

No ECU's to swap over OR tuning boxes to fit / remove.
Post #476591 27th Nov 2015 12:07am
Silverfox1970

Thanks, think you've all made my mind up
Post #476593 27th Nov 2015 12:27am
roel

Netherlands 2003 Defender 90 Td5 PU Caledonian Blue
A good tuning box doesn't have to be bad.

Something I wrote a few days ago.

The only way to make more power is to give the engine more fuel.
El cheapo tuning boxes foul the ECU by faking/changing sensor signals to let the ECU think there is more air in the cylinder then there is. By changing the air temp down, air pressure up, air flow up or even fuel temperature up. Or a combination off these.