Home > Td5 > 53 PLATE TD5 CAMSHAFT
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Print this entire topic · 
Raptor

United Kingdom 2004 Defender 110 Td5 DCPU Oslo Blue
53 PLATE TD5 CAMSHAFT
Hi Guys,
Can anyone point me in the direction of any thread regarding "WEAR" on the camshaft "lobes"?
Changing injector seals/washers, but noticed quite a bit of wear on the lobes etc, i've not seen this before,
I didn't bother changing the seals etc, didn't want to alter anything too much, so just put everything back together and buttoned down until i can sort something.

Vehicle as 2 previous owners, 150,000 miles, extensive up to date dealer service history etc.
I'm no mechanic, far from it, but for me a lack of oil would be the reason for such damage? or at the least a lack of quality oil?
runs fine, pulls like a train, no excessive smoke rattlings etc, (or im oblivious) uses no fluids, leaks or loss of oil or water, it be a mystery to me?

Any info gratefully received

Many thanks

Jeff

Last edited by Raptor on 14th May 2014 6:36am. Edited 1 time in total
Post #330852 13th May 2014 9:10pm
blackwolf

United Kingdom 2007 Defender 110 Puma 2.4 DCPU Stornoway Grey
You probably mean camshaft not crankshaft.
Post #330903 13th May 2014 11:00pm
Raptor

OOOPS Embarassed Yes i mean camshaft blackwolf, apologies, edited mistake. Whistle
Post #330924 14th May 2014 6:38am
diesel_jim

United Kingdom 2006 Defender 110 Td5 SW Epsom Green
When you say wear, is there a groove? or a dark mark? or have you compared your cam to a new one and the lobes are much smaller?
Post #330932 14th May 2014 8:02am
Raptor

There are grooves in a couple of the lobes, and slightly "flat".., the "bearings" on the rocker shaft are also worn, just worried now what further probs may occur until i get it sorted, i still have to use it daily,, paranoia easily creeps in, especially after having a D2 a while ago that had some rather odd tendencies to say the least
Post #330935 14th May 2014 8:09am
Raptor

ongoing Whistle lol